Introducing THE PODIATRIST ~ Houston Editorial Photographer

     The Go Red For Women Luncheon here in the Bay Area of Houston was a huge success.  All the heart throbs were excited to participate and help spread the word about the silent killer of women… heart disease.   In fact, heart disease is the # 1 killer of women each year.   Heart Disease kills more women than all forms of cancer combined.

Let me introduce you to the fourth and final 2013 Bay Area Go Red For Women official heart throb…

 THE PODIATRIST

     Dr. Patrick Briggs is The Podiatrist…  Patrick is a doctor with the Texas Gulf Coast Medical Group.  I sat down with Dr. Briggs near the runway (yes where jumbo jets land) at Bush Intercontinental Airport a few weeks back to discuss his love of travel, Doctors Without Borders and his beautiful mom.

The Podiatrist was photographed on location near Bush Intercontinental Airport.  His shoot was inspired by his travels in third world countries.  [Dr. Briggs had been in Vegas for a week-long conference and the only time I could photograph him was the Sunday when he returned to Houston.  So I found a spot near airport that somewhat resembled an african savannah and set up camp.  Dr. Briggs literally stepped off the plane drove a few miles and we shot his heart throb campaign in a matter of minutes.]

How has your work with the American Heart Association changed your views on your health?
I constantly think about what I put in my body and what I do for my body on a daily basis. Every action has the potential for a reaction.

What propelled you to join in the Go Red For Women event?
My mother has type II Diabetes and recently developed a heart attack that subsequently required 2 stents. Yes, it can happen to women….

Do you have any female family members with heart disease? If so, what specifics?
Yes, my mother who is dealing with this very nicely on a daily basis. I have watched her transform her life in hopes of preventing future attacks. Education for her has been the key. We all do not believe it can happen to us. A natural part of being human.

What is your idea of a perfect day?
Awake early to watch the sunrise, a cup of coffee before a long run in a remote place, then visit to a small village to meet local people, then back to a luxury inn with nice meals, world-class service and fine wine.

As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?
A difficult question…..I think I was just trying to find myself…

What historical figure do you most identify with ?
Any of the Founding Fathers – they had an amazing vision..

What is your greatest extravagance?
I think when my wife and I travel overseas to third world countries. There are truly amazing small luxury inns where one can stay and become pampered yet still feel like you are within the elements

What is your greatest regret?
I do not have any regrets… I believe things do happen for a reason. There is always something positive one can take from an action. I guess I am more the half full kind of guy.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?
I think being relatively successful in 3 different types of practices in 3 different locations in a matter of 11 years. Never thought I could do this….  5 years ago my wife and I had the opportunity to work in Alaska.  She asked if I would be willing to start a new practice in Anchorage while she would be working in the Oil and Gas industry. It truly takes 4-5 years to build a practice and reputation.  We left after 31/2 years because of another opportunity in Texas for both of us.  Alaska was an amazing adventure, but not the place we would like to settle down. So, I recently started my last adventure with Texas Gulf Coast Medical Group.  I hope this will be my last stop as it takes great energy and discipline to build a successful practice.  Moreover, it is very sad to leave a practice and all your patients…

Who is one of your favorite authors?  

Jon Krakauer – amazing author who writes about incredible experiences. I have read his 5 major titles.

How did you end up in your current job industry?
I was a kinesiology/exercise physiology major at the University of Colorado and found out late that this degree certainly does not prepare oneself for the work industry. I then searched for a career I thought could compliment my degree. Almost every athlete has foot and ankle issues as does most of the population. Podiatric medicine and surgery seemed like a nice fit….

What was the last movie you saw at the theatre?

Lincoln

What is the one place outside the United States that you would most like to visit?
My wife and I have a bucket list of places to visit. Most are remote, but that’s what we find so fascinating. I think any 3rd world country would be incredible. Our list includes Mongolia, China, and Vietnam. Getting engrained in the culture and meeting locals is so rewarding. It truly makes us not only appreciate what we have but what others offer…

 2013-03-04_011

2013-03-04_013

2013-03-04_001 2013-03-04_012 2013-03-04_010 2013-03-04_009 2013-03-04_008 2013-03-04_007 2013-03-04_006 2013-03-04_005 2013-03-04_004 2013-03-04_003 2013-03-04_002

Leave a Reply

